World Heritage and Intangible Cultural Heritage

World Heritage

About World Heritage

The World Heritage Convention (The 1972 Convention Concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage) was adopted in 1972 by the General Conference of UNESCO, and has been concluded by 194 countries at present (2021. 7). Japan also accepted this convention in 1992, and has contributed to the establishment of a system of international cooperation and support, based on the recognition that it is important to protect cultural and natural heritage from such threats as damage and destruction and to preserve them as the world heritage of all humankind.
Sites are inscribed on the World Heritage List through a process in which nominated properties from each country are examined by the World Heritage Committee, which consists of 21 countries. As of July 2021, 1154 properties have been inscribed on the list, of which 897 are cultural sites, 218 are natural sites, and 39 are mixed sites. Among them are 25 World Heritage properties in Japan, including 20 cultural sites and 5 natural sites.

World Heritage List (Cultural Heritage)

About cultural heritage proposed for nomination

Sado Island Gold Mines

Cultural heritage proposed for nomination

About Tentative List

A Tentative List is an invetory of those sites situated on its territory which each State Party considers suitable for nomination to the World Heritage List.
Nominations to the World Heritage List will not be considered unless the nominated property has already been included on the State Party's Tentative List.
As of July 2021, 5 cultural sites have been inscribed on the Japanese Tentative List.

Tentative List